ACEL Leadership Award for Paradigm Shifting initiative

With my colleagues from the Mitchell Institute and project partners -  Victorian Association of State Secondary Principals, the New South Wales Secondary Principals Council and 21 government schools in Victoria and NSW - we are DELIGHTED to be receiving an ACEL Leadership Award for our work on the Paradigm Shifters: Entrepreneurial learning in schools initiative.

This award is presented annually to educators, schools, networks, and professional associations who have demonstrated excellent leadership in developing and implementing a significant education initiative, conducting research or influencing educational policy, leading to improved outcomes for students and/or colleagues in any educational setting. 

This was a collaborative initiative and we would like to thank everyone involved, in particular:

  • The Victorian Association of State Secondary Principals and New South Wales Secondary Principals Council for their support as partners of the initiative.

  • The network coordinators, Dianne Hennessy and Wayne Perkins, who each coordinated a state-wide network of schools.

  • The staff and students from the participating schools who joined us on this journey over 18 months, and who took the lead in identifying and responding to problems or opportunities in their school or broader community.

  • Mitchell Institute Adviser Dr Michelle Anderson, Policy Analyst Hannah Matus and Policy Fellow Dr Bronwyn Hinz  who provided project leadership and research on the initiative.

  • Mitchell Institute Professorial Fellow and International Adviser, Professor Yong Zhao, whose work on the three principles of entrepreneurial learning inspired the initiative. 

The award was conferred on Thursday 5 October  2017 at the ACEL National Awards Ceremony.

This piece was originally published - with a few grammatical changes for readability - on the website of the Mitchell Institute.